zodiac chart

The 12th House in the Birth Chart & Shadow Work: Key Info

For those with an interest in astrology, a birth chart is an important tool for understanding yourself. The birth chart (sometimes known as a natal chart) is generally split into twelve houses. There are one for every sign of the zodiac:

  • Aries (March 21 to April 19)
  • Taurus (April 20 to May 20)
  • Gemini (May 21 to June 21)
  • Cancer (June 22 to July 22)
  • Leo (July 23 to August 22)
  • Virgo (August 23 to September 22)
  • Libra (September 23 to October 23)
  • Scorpius (October 24 to November 21)
  • Sagittarius (November 22 to December 21)
  • Capricornus (December 22 to January 19)
  • Aquarius (January 20 to February 18)
  • Pisces (February 19 to March 20)

How Can A Birth Chart Be Determined? 

To find out a person’s natal chart, it's important to know their birth time, birthplace and birthday.

The first aspect of one’s birth chart that you will want to look at is the natal chart for their sun, moon and rising signs.

The second aspect of one’s birth chart that you will want to look at is the natal chart for their moon, rising signs, and all the planets in their solar chart.

The third and final aspect that you will want to look at is the natal chart for their ascendant and all planets in their solar chart.

The 12th House: What Does It Represent?

According to Astrology, the 12th house is ruled by the planet Neptune and the zodiac sign Pisces. It's generally referred to as "the House of the Unconscious." It summarizes a person's subconscious dreams alongside innermost secrets and fears.

Given all the mystery around it, many people see it as a dangerous house. It's full of pieces of oneself they want to keep hidden or avoid entirely.

People who have 12th house planet placements are incredibly intuitive. They may even have psychic abilities. When planets transit the 12th house, karmic people end up attracted to the lives of others. It should be noted at this juncture, however, that not all relationships are rooted in longevity by default.

Connecting with subconscious qualities or one's 12th house involves shadow work. This is the top way to have a better understanding of oneself.

Shadow Work: What Is It?

In the context of psychology, a person's "shadow" is essentially their unconscious aspects. Basically, it's a person's parts that are not observed consciously. If we are able to dig deep into ourselves and bring these aspects to the surface, we can become whole once more.

There is nothing easy about shadow work: it can be flat-out hurtful. A person has to work through aspects of their personality or events that were actively avoided and/or were painful experiences.

A key example of shadow work is therapy sessions. It's a vital tool in order to uncover things about oneself previously unknown. Healing past traumas can also be done through these sessions.


When it comes to a person's birth chart, the 12th House is the most mysterious of them all. It's often referred to as "the House of the Unconscious." Shadow work is the best way to better understand onself, which usually involves therapy sessions.

Need a birth chart pendant? Shop at Ephemeris Co today! We’ve got customized astrological jewelry and wall art with the moon’s exact image on a certain date, among others. 

Back to blog