The Planets and What They Represent in Astrological Charts

The Planets and What They Represent in Astrological Charts

Your astrological birth chart can define core aspects of your character and personality. Using the exact date, time, and location of your birth, you can determine your placements and use that to manage your strengths and weaknesses.

Once you calculate your birth chart, you will get to learn about what planets, signs, and celestial bodies fall in the spectrum of your birth. Although you may already be familiar with horoscopes and what they mean, you might not know what the planets represent in your birth chart. Here is a basic overview to give you a sense of what they mean.

The Sun and Moon

Although the sun and moon aren’t actually planets, they still serve a similar role, so it would help to have them in the same group.

The sun represents your creativity and ego, and it’s the most encompassing part of your character. So, it’s the basis for the sign you’ll usually see on a basic horoscope.

In contrast, your moon sign tackles the inner workings of your persona that don’t always translate to your sun traits. The moon reflects your unconscious self and underlying emotions.


Venus represents love, an apropos standing considering the mythological significance of Venus in romance. Your desire for relationships and how you handle them, be it romantic or platonic, will be dependent on this placement.


Jupiter carries over to various aspects, but perhaps the most important are luck and fate. This will also be anything but tangential to your belief system.


How you communicate, understand, and process information will be reliant on your Mercury placement. This moves into a new sign every month, so you’ll see it in shifts of routine and small habitual practices.


This is where you’ll draw your physical nature. Your motivation and energy for movement fall under this placement.


Saturn affects how you perceive your own limits as well as how you react to authority. It also shows what challenges may crop up in your responsibilities and how you tackle your work. This sign sees movement at least every 24 months.


Movement in terms of the mind will be Uranus’s domain. Think innovation in the realms of technology and scientific research. Because it takes almost a decade to shift signs, you’ll see how this affects changes in each generation.


Your hopes, dreams, and ideals are inherently formed from Neptune. Searching for the meaning of your life and what really matters? This is the planet to look at.


Although it’s no longer scientifically classified as a planet, Pluto still stands as a significant planetary representative in your astrological birth chart. It relates to the depths of your psychology and how your mind responds to death and renewal.

Why Earth Isn’t Included

If you’re wondering why you don’t see our very own Earth in the planetary lineup, it’s because you are born on Earth. This makes it the center point and a constant. It is everyone’s baseline from which their placements originate.

Final Thoughts

This can help you get a broader sense of your birth chart and help you get a more accurate horoscope. If you intend to learn more about astrology or simply get to know yourself on a deeper level, this information can guide you. Knowing every element of your astrological placements can help you understand the path ahead of you.

You can get your exact birth placements and have customized jewelry for yourself! At Ephemeris Co., we create personalized zodiac jewelry based on your specific birth chart. Create your custom piece now to get up to 50% off and join our Cosmic Circle membership.

Back to blog